dispatch-conf - Sanely update configuration files after emerging new packages
dispatch-conf must be run as root, since the config files to be replaced are generally owned by root. Before running dispatch-conf for the first time the settings in /etc/dispatch-conf.conf should be edited and the archive directory specified in /etc/dispatch-conf.conf will need to be created. All changes to config files will be saved in the archive directory either as patches or using rcs, making restoration to an earlier version rather simple.
When dispatch-conf finds a config file that has a new update the user is provided with a menu of options for how to handle the update:
u - Update (replace) the current config file with the new config file and continue.
z - Zap (delete) the new config file and continue.
n - Skip to the next config file, leaving both the original config file and any CONFIG_PROTECTed files.
e - Edit the new config file, using the editor defined in $EDITOR.
m - Interactively merge the current and new config files.
l - Look at the differences between the pre-merged and merged config files.
t - Toggle between the merged and pre-merged config files (in terms of which should be installed using the command).
h - Display a help screen.
q - Quit dispatch-conf.